§ 13-12-050

Construction, alteration, installation, repair or razing without permit – Penalty

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to:

i.

construct, alter, install, repair or raze any building, structure, premises or part thereof without having obtained any permit required by this Code; or

ii.

construct, alter, install, repair or raze any building, structure, premises or part thereof in a manner which is contrary to the drawings or plans which the appropriate department or city agencies approved when issuing any permit required by this Code; or

iii.

maintain or operate any building, structure, premises, mechanical installation, equipment or part thereof without any permit or certificate required by this Code.

Any person who violates this subsection upon conviction shall be punished, as follows:

1.

incarceration for a term not less than three days, nor more than six months, under the procedures set forth in Section 1-2-1.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code, as amended, and the Illinois Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963, as amended; and/or

2.

community service of not less than ten hours, nor more than 100 hours; and

3.

a fine of not less than $200.00, nor more than $500.00 for the first offense; and a fine of not less than $500.00, nor more than $3,000.00 for the second offense; and a fine of not less than $3,000.00, nor more than $5,000.00 for the third and each subsequent offense.

A separate and distinct offense shall be committed for each permit which is required but has not been obtained, and each day that the violation continues.

If an employee of a builder, contractor or subcontractor is charged with violating this subsection, it shall be a defense that the employee is not an owner, manager, or person exercising control over the builder, contractor or subcontractor and did not have prior notice that the builder, contractor or subcontractor had failed to obtain a permit.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to fail to post any permit as required by Section 13-32-010 of this Code. Any person who violates this subsection shall be fined not less than $200.00, nor more than $500.00 for each day that work proceeds without the permit having been posted.

(Prior code § 39-4; Amend Coun. J. 7-31-90, p. 19353; Amend Coun. J. 4-29-98, p. 66565; Amend Coun. J. 8-30-00, p. 39652, § 1)

Download

  • Plain Text
  • JSON

Comments